Turistica Il Gabbiano

Aeolian Islands

Discover the kingdom of a god … The seven Aeolian Islands, Lipari, Vulcano, Salina, Panarea, Stromboli, Alicudi and Filicudi, which take their name from Aeolus, the Greek god of the wind, constitute a fascinating archipelago of volcanic nature in the Tyrrhenian Sea. Located just 30 km (19 miles) off the north coast of Sicily, the islands are just a short sail from our base.

For their unique natural environment, the Aeolian Islands became in the year 2000 a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Two of the islands are active volcanos, with a cloud of smoke often visible above them even on a cloudless day. Stromboli especially looks like a smoking volcanic cone sticking from the waters, though you will find the island both inhabited and safe to visit. On most islands one can find thermal waters, as well as smoking fumaroles: Openings in the Earth’s crust which emit gases and sulphur. Despite the almost prehistoric feel surrounding these outcrops of undisturbed nature, the aeolian islands are a popular touristic destination during the summer.